The species and classification of elephants.

Elephants or elephants are the largest mammals on land in the world. They belong to the order Long Nose. There are only one family, two genera and three species, Elephantidae, African elephants and elephants. There are two species of African elephants: common African elephants (also called tropical grassland elephants or shrub elephants) and African forest elephants. Elephants belong to only one species (also Asian elephants). It’s called the Indian elephant.

Long nose

There were 6 families in the order Longitudina, 5 of which were extinct, and only 1 family, 2 genera and 2 species in the family Euphorbiaceae.

The animal of this order has the same characteristics as its name. It has a long nose and fingerlike processes at the end of its nose. It can pick up small objects. Elephant family includes 2 genera and 2 species, namely Asian elephant and African elephant.

Elephants are the largest terrestrial mammals in existence. They have developed sense of smell and hearing and poor vision. The long nose acts as an arm and finger, and can absorb water and food into the mouth.

Giant ears not only help listen, but also heat dissipation. Males (both male and female African elephants) have long tusks that are specialized maxillary incisors. Asian elephants have 5 forelimbs, 4 hind limbs and 3 forelimbs of African elephants.

African elephant

Species and Classification of Elephants

African elephant

It is distributed in central, Eastern and southern Africa.

African elephants live in tropical forests, jungles and grasslands from sea level to 5,000 meters above sea level. They are the largest living terrestrial mammals. Communities, led by a male elephant, are daily and have no settlements. It feeds on weeds, leaves, bark and twigs.

The reproductive period is not fixed. The gestation period is about 22 months. Every litter is born. Sexual maturity is 13-14 years old and the life span is 60-70 years. Beijing Zoo began to exhibit in 1954.

Listed in the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora

African elephant is the largest terrestrial mammal in existence. Its body length is 6-7.5 meters, tail length is 1-1.3 meters, shoulder height is 3-4 meters, and weight is 5-7.5 tons. The highest record was a male with a body length of 10.67 meters, a forefoot circumference of 1.8 meters and a body weight of 11.75 tons. The largest Ivory record is 350 centimeters long and weighs about 107 kilograms.

There are two kinds of African elephants. The most common one is the common African elephant. It is the largest terrestrial animal in the world. Its ears are large and pointed. Both male and female have long and curved ivory. Its forefoot has four toes, and its hind foot has three toes (one less than the Asian elephant). It has 21 pairs of ribs, a flat back, 6-7.3 meters long, as high as 3-4 meters, and weighs 10 tons. Sex is more ferocious, especially lonely male elephants, which are more ferocious and difficult to tame.

The other African elephant is an endangered forest elephant. It is small, usually no more than 2.5 meters tall, with round ears, long and narrow mandible, five toes in the forefoot and four toes in the hind foot. It is the same as Asian elephant. Its ivory is small and straight, and its texture is harder. Recent genetic analysis has confirmed that it is not the same species as the common African elephant.

Asian elephant

Species and Classification of Elephants

Asian elephant

Name: Elephas maximus

English name: Indian elephant

It is distributed in the south of Yunnan Province, China. Foreign countries are found in South and Southeast Asia.

Asian elephants (also known as elephants) live in tropical forests, jungles or grasslands. Communities, led by a female elephant, have no fixed habitat and are diurnal. Smell, hearing sensitivity, poor vision, hot like water bath. In the morning and evening, they forage on weeds, leaves, bamboo leaves and wild fruits.

The reproductive period is not fixed. The gestation period is 20-22 months. Every child is born. Sexual maturity is 9-12 years old. The life span is 60-70 years. Breeding exhibition in Beijing Zoo in 1951. Breeding success in 1964.

It is a Chinese-level protected animal and has been listed in the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora.

There is only one species of Asian elephant, also known as Indian elephant, distributed in South and Southeast Asia. There is a finger-like protuberance on the nose. Female elephants have no ivory. Even male elephants have half of them without ivory or small ivory. Their ears are small and round. They have five toes on the forefoot and four toes on the hind foot. There are 19 pairs of ribs (including 20 pairs of Sumatran subspecies, but none). One less than the African elephant, the skull has two protrusions and an arched back. Mild temperament, easy to tame. In the past, there were four subspecies: Indian elephant, Ceylon elephant, Malaysian elephant and Sumatran elephant.

In addition, there are several subspecies, Malaysia has a subspecies of Asian elephant – dwarf elephant, smaller. Namibia has a subspecies of African elephant, desert elephant, whose foot pads become bigger and more adaptable to water shortage. Namibia knows how to save water and will look for water sources in the desert.


Species and Classification of Elephants


Mammuthus primigenins, paleovertebrates, mammals, long noses, phylloids. Also known as Mammoth (mammoth).

Mammoth, which means “underground dweller” in Tatar, used to be the largest elephant in the world.

It is tall and strong, with strong legs, four toes on its feet and a particularly large head. It has a pair of curved front teeth in its mouth.

A mature mammoth, 5 meters in length, 3 meters in height, 1.5 meters in length and 4-5 tons in weight. It is covered with long black hair, thick skin, with a very thick layer of fat, up to 9 centimeters thick.

From the point of view of mammoth’s body structure, it has a very strong ability to withstand cold. Unlike modern elephants, they do not live in the tropics or subtropics, but in the northern cold climate of an ancient mammal.

The size is similar to that of modern elephants, but the skull is shorter and taller than that of modern elephants.

The body is covered with long brown hair. No lower incisor teeth, the incisor teeth are very long, upward and outward curling.

Molar teeth are composed of many teeth plates, which are arranged tightly, about 30 pieces. There are developed Cretaceous layers between the plates and the plates. It once lived in the cold area of late Pleistocene in the north of Asia, Europe and North America.

In the permafrost layer of northern Siberia and Alaska Peninsula in North America, complete individuals with skin and flesh were found, and plants growing in the permafrost zone were still preserved in the stomach.

Mammoth fossils have also been found in Northeast China, Changdao, Inner Mongolia and Ningxia. Scientists believe that the earth’s mammoths died during the sudden ice age, freezing the dead bodies, so that they could decay in the future.

Because of the protection and burial of ice and snow in the cave for thousands of years, it can be completely preserved.

Frozen bodies of this animal have been found more than once in the frozen soil and ice of Alaska and Siberia.